Carmen Intorre, Rob Ambrose, Pat Martino, Pat Bianchi, Bobby Broom and Peter Bernstein. Photo: Rob Ambrose
Saturday, on the campus of Indiana-Purdue University (IUPUI) some of the greatest jazz guitarists in the world gathered for a day of performances, workshops, and lecture panels to honor the life and music of Indiana’s own, Wes Montgomery…   Read More


The Bobby Broom Trio opens up their September weekend at Jazz Showcase. Photo by Bill Flowers.


Review: The quiet side of guitarist Bobby Broom’s art

September 16, 2016

By Howard Reich

Listeners long have savored the music of Chicago guitarist Bobby Broom, but his work never has sounded more intimate than it did Thursday night at the Jazz Showcase.

Leading a trio that reveled in understatement, Broom performed as if leading a session in his living room, the rest of us invited to eavesdrop. Even Broom’s spoken introductions were delivered at something just above a whisper, the musician in every way encouraging his audience to lean in a bit to fully perceive what was happening.

Like many jazz musicians of boomer vintage, Broom has nurtured a love of pop hits from the 1960s and ’70s, and he indulged it on this occasion, in most appealing ways.

Read more at the Chicago Tribune

Jazz guitarist Bobby Broom on how Wes Montgomery made his epic mark on the music. September 17th is Wes’ Tribute Day at IUPUI in Indianapolis, Indiana as part of the Indy Jazz Fest.

Read More




Legendary Jazz Guitarist Bobby Broom returns to the Windy for four nights of amazing #hotchill music with his group, The Bobby Broom Trio with the amazing Dennis Carroll on the bass and the epic Makaya McCraven on drums.  This is truly one of the best trios that you will see in North America today, and Broom’s soaring guitar can take even the most well tread musical ground and breathe magic into it.  At Chicago’s home of legends, the Jazz Showcase.  Tickets